Are oysters vegan?

Created by Fussy Vegan, Modified on Sun, 26 Dec 2021 at 07:31 PM by Fussy Vegan

No, an oyster is a member of the animal kingdom. The Vegan Society Vegan Standards state "The Vegan Society understands the word animal to refer to the entire animal kingdom. That is all vertebrates and all multicellular invertebrates. Animal can refer to a species or an individual; and is used as a noun or an adjective, as required. Unless otherwise stated, it usually means non-human animals."

Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select atleast one of the reasons
CAPTCHA verification is required.

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article