Bundaberg Brewed Drinks has advised that due to a change of an ingredient supplier, the following drinks are now NOT VEGAN.


Bundaberg Ginger Beer
Bundaberg Diet Ginger Beer
Bundaberg Spiced Ginger Beer
Bundaberg Sarsaparilla 
Bundaberg Diet Sarsaparilla 
Bundaberg Tropical Mango


There has not been any changes to any other flavours.


Now, and this is the important part, are these actually not vegan know or not? At this stage, we do not have enough information to make an assessment.


As most of you that follow us should know, we never rely on the manufacturers vegan or not vegan claim on a product and we always due an independent assessment of the product against the vegan standards to determine the vegan status of a product in the app database.


There are three possible scenarios with these Bundaberg products:


1. The ingredients supplier is correct and these products are now no longer vegan.


2. The ingredients supplier has simply ticked the "not vegan" box on the product information sheet because they have simply not verified the vegan status of the ingredient or are not sure if they are allowed to tick vegan without getting it certified.


3. Bundaberg is unable or unwilling to provide us further information from the ingredients supplier as to the reason why the ingredient is considered not vegan and we will have no choice but to give these products a not vegan status in the app.


Either way, once we receive a response from Bundaberg, we will do a follow up post to explain which scenario we have to go with. In the mean time, our advise is to NOT CONSUME any of the above listed products until we can get further information to make an assessment ourselves. 
The app database has been updated to list these as caution for the time being. Please check the app if you have want to know the vegan status of any other Bundaberg products.